The Miami chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA Miamiwill celebrate its landmark 60th anniversary at the 2015 Ev Clay/PRSA Miami Endowment Luncheon where Ron Magill, communications and media relations director at Zoo Miami, and Rosanna M. Fiske, APR, Fellow PRSAvice president of corporate communications at Wells Fargo & Co., will be honored for their contributions to the public relations profession in Miami. The annual event will take place at 11:30 a.m. on Friday, Oct. 2 at Jungle Island in Miami.

“Ron and Rosanna are two remarkable community leaders who have been instrumental in furthering not only the public relations industry, but also in educating the South Florida community through their work,” said Marcia Gomez, president of PRSA Miami. “It is with great admiration that we honor these industry role models along with local, promising PR students.”

Magill is best known for his promotion of animal and wildlife conservation on behalf of Zoo Miami. He will receive the PRSA Miami Royal Palm Award, which is presented to a member of the community who embodies and demonstrates key values of the public relations profession and who has made a significant contribution to Miami-Dade County.

Magill has worked with wildlife for more than 35 years. As Zoo Miami’s goodwill ambassador, he has made frequent appearances on national and international TV shows in both Spanish and English-speaking markets. He has also written and produced many wildlife articles and award-winning photographs that have appeared in publications and galleries around the world.

For her impact on the public relations and communications field as an educator, industry leader and mentor, Fiske will receive the Bill Adams Lifetime Achievement Award. The award, named after nationally-admired educator and public relations professional Bill Adams, recognizes exceptional leadership and contributions to the public relations profession and the community. Last month Fiske was admitted into PRSA’s prestigious College of Fellows.

Fiske is known for her cross-cultural understanding and expertise. She is a nationally recognized executive whose experience spans more than 25 years. A past president of both the Miami chapter and the national PRSA organization, in 2010, she earned the Hispanic Public Relations Association’s Professional of the Year award. She has also received three PRSA Silver Anvils, a Bronze Anvil, several Addys and Cannes Lions awards excellence in public relations programming.

In addition, the following six promising public relations students will each be presented with an Ev Clay/ PRSA Miami Endowment Fund scholarship:

Florida International University

  • Nicole Aguiar
  • Manuela Carvajal

Florida Memorial University

  • Patrice Duncombe
  • Noelle McGeachy

Miami Dade College

  • Katya Chinchilla
  • Rafael Portuondo

University of Miami

  • Zoe Kafkes
  • Dora Williams

The luncheon raises funds to support the Ev Clay/PRSA Miami Endowment Fund, PRSA’s largest chapter-operated scholarship fund, which provides financial resources to South Florida students with a public relations interest. For event registration and additional information, visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *