The National Association of Hispanic Publications elected new executive leadership at the 26th Annual NAHP Convention and Business Expo at the Tropicana Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada, on October 21, 2011. The NAHP Board of Directors represent the leading Spanish language publications serving 41 markets in 39 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, with a combined circulation of over 23 million. NAHP members produce over 15 billion pages of information annually.

The newly elected Executive Committee members serving for the 2011-2013 term are:

  • Zeke Montes – President Publisher of TeleGuia de Chicago (IL)
  • David Cortinas – President-Elect Publisher of La Voz de Yuma (AZ) and La Voz Hispanic Newspaper (WA)
  • Nile Wendorf – Treasurer Associate Publisher of Extra Bilingual Community Newspapers (IL)
  • Jose Luis B. Garza – Vice President of Membership USA Hispanic Publications, LLC (TX)
  • Fanny Miller – Vice President of Marketing President and CEO of El Latino (CA)

In addition to the Executive Committee, individuals were appointed by new President Zeke Montes to fill Regional and Alternate Director positions on the NAHP Board of Directors on an interim basis until Regional elections are held in 2012.

These appointments include:

  • Clemente Nicado – Region 3 Alternate Director Publisher of Negocios Now (IL)
  • Rossana Drumond – Region 6 Director Publisher of Alianza Metropolitan News (CA)
  • Rosalina Contreras-Rosado – Region 6 Alternate Director Publisher of El Bohemio (CA)
  • Hugo Hernandez – Region 7 Director El Clasificado (CA)
  • Jose Zepeda – Region 7 Alternate Director Publisher of El Aviso Magazine (CA)

Additional members of the NAHP Board of Directors, serving terms from 2010 – 2012 include:

  • Anthony Ibarria, Jr.- Region 1 Director Publisher of El Especial, El Especialito, and Personalidades (NJ)
  • Alberto Avedano – Region 1 Alternate Director Publisher of El Tiempo Latino (VA)
  • Anibal Torres – Region 2 Director Publisher of MundoHispanico (GA)
  • Norma Condreay – Region 3 Director Publisher of El Latino American (OK)
  • Lina Martinez – Region 4 Director Publisher of La Informacion (TX)
  • Jorge Iturralde – Region 4 Alternate Director Publisher of Club Deportes (TX)
  • Eddie Escobedo, Jr.- Region 5 Director Publisher of El Mundo (NV)

Immediate Past President of NAHP, Clara Padilla Andrews said this of the new Board of Directors, “I am very excited to see this group of enthusiastic and committed Directors take the reigns of NAHP. Collectively they bring a wealth and diversity of experience that will serve the interests of the NAHP membership and help move the association forward for years to come.” New NAHP President Zeke Montes said, “The future is bright, we just need to be focused on what is best for our community and our publishers. We need to ride the wave of success by preparing ourselves to all the changes and opportunities we create.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *