Award to be presented at the Hispanic Public Relations Association National Bravo! Awards Mike Fernandez, Corporate Vice President of Corporate Affairs at Cargill was selected as the first-ever recipient of the Hispanic Public Relations Association (HPRA) National Pioneer of the Year Award. He will be recognized amongst colleagues during the 2015 HPRA National BRAVO Awards ceremony on October 8, 2015 at The New York Palace Hotel. Fernandez leads Cargill’s global corporate affairs activities, including public relations, brand and marketing, government relations, global issues management, and corporate social responsibility; and is a member of the company’s Corporate Center (the company’s top 25 executives). Before joining Cargill in 2010, Fernandez served as the chief communications officer for four Fortune 500 companies (State Farm, ConAgra Foods, Cigna, and US West). “As a communications professional, Mike’s accomplishments and leadership in the industry has been recognized by many Latino and non-Latino organizations,” said Andy Checo, president, HPRA. “His work has set the bar for excellence and progress. The Pioneer Award shines a spotlight upon accomplished professionals that serve as trailblazers, paving the path for other professionals to embark and further continue their journey. We are honored to present this recognition to Mr. Fernandez. ” The HPRA National Bravo Awards recognize the communication industry’s finest campaigns across several categories including technology, sports, digital, non-profit and integrated marketing communications among others. In total, 15 categories will be awarded. 2015 marks an important year for the organization. Not only will the HPRA BRAVO Awards be celebrating it’s first year in New York City, but the first National Scholarship will also be awarded to a deserving student pursuing education in the PR, Marketing or Advertising fields. This initiative complements longstanding scholarship programs by several of HPRA local chapters. The HPRA National Bravo Awards were made possible by the generous contributions of Platinum Patrons: Time Warner Cable and Coca-Cola, Silver Patron: Moet Hennessy USA, and Bronze Patrons: Delta Air Lines, Ogilvy Public Relations, PR Newswire, Toyota and UnitedHealthcare. To purchase event tickets for the 2015 HPRA National Bravo Awards, please visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *