Cinnamon, dedicated to the arts in South Florida for over 40 years and Clay, chairman of Miami’s oldest PR firm, will be honored during PRSA Annual Luncheon

Charles Cinnamon, of Charles Cinnamon Public Relations
Dana Clay, chairman of Everett Clay Associates

The Miami Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA), will honor Charles Cinnamon, of Charles Cinnamon Public Relations with the 2011 Royal Palm Award for his contributions to the Miami arts and cultural scene throughout his more than 40 years in the profession. Dana Clay, chairman of Everett Clay Associates, recognized as Miami’s oldest PR agency, will be awarded the 2011 Bill Adams PRSA Lifetime Achievement Award.

The annual awards are given to recipients for their achievements and influence in their local communities through the excellent application and execution of public relations principles.  This year, the ceremony will take place during the 24th Annual Ev Clay/PRSA Miami Chapter Endowment Fund luncheon on November 4 at the Miami Shores Country Club.

Cinnamon has long been viewed a pillar in the arts and cultural scene in Miami, starting in the 1960s when he was public relations director for the Coconut Grove Playhouse. He subsequently represented Zev Buffman’s Broadway Series, promoting plays in nine theaters across the United States.  Cinnamon represented many of South Florida’s prominent arts organizations, including the Concert Association of Greater Miami, the Miami City Ballet and the New World School of the Arts.

He has been credited as the creator of the Coconut Grove Arts Festival and the Miami Beach Festival of the Arts, and was also part of the team that brought the Miami Heat NBA franchise to our community.

Clay has led Everett Clay Associates, Miami’s oldest PR agency.  As chairman, she has demonstrated excellence through award-winning work, and numerous industry awards, including the Addy, Emmy, Big Mike, Golden Image, Gold Quill and Clarion.  Her support for the Ev Clay Scholarship Fund (administered by PRSA Miami) will be her most important legacy by ensuring financial support for students interested in a public relations career.

The Ev Clay/PRSA Miami Endowment Fund is the largest scholarship fund in the nation operated by a PRSA chapter.  Since 1985, it has awarded more than $141,000 in scholarships.  The 2011 recipients being honored during the November 4 luncheon are Sabrina Gomez and Gretel Perez of Florida International University; Chantale Steward and Christina Sukie of Florida Memorial University; Connie M. Fossi and Daniela Salazar of Miami Dade College; and Gigi Guerra and Rachel Krantz of the University of Miami.

  • EVENT:    24th Annual Ev Clay/PRSA Miami Chapter Endowment Fund Luncheon
  • DATE:      Friday, November 4
  • TIME:       11:30 a.m. – Registration and Silent Auction
  • 12:30 p.m. – Luncheon and Awards Presentation
  • PLACE:      Miami Shores Country Club, 10000 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami Shores
  • COST:        $50 for members, $30 for students, $65 for guests, $500 per table of 8 (Proceeds benefit the Ev Clay/PRSA Miami Chapter Endowment Fund)
  • REGISTER: Register and pay online at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *