Alaska Census Data

Data for Alaska show that the five most populous incorporated places and their 2010 Census counts are Anchorage, 291,826; Fairbanks, 31,535; Juneau, 31,275; Sitka, 8,881; and Ketchikan, 8,050. Anchorage grew by 12.1 percent since the 2000 Census. Fairbanks grew by 4.3 percent, Juneau grew by 1.8 percent, Sitka grew by 0.5 percent, and Ketchikan grew by 1.6 percent.

Alaska has four types of primary divisions that are equivalent to counties in other states: borough, census area, city and borough, and municipality. Among these, the largest county equivalent is Anchorage Municipality, with a population of 291,826. Its population grew by 12.1 percent since 2000. The other county equivalents in the top five include Fairbanks North Star Borough, with a population of 97,581 (increase of 17.8 percent); Matanuska-Susitna Borough, 88,995 (increase of 50.0 percent); Kenai Peninsula Borough, 55,400 (increase of 11.5 percent); and Juneau City and Borough, 31,275 (increase of 1.8 percent). Read More »